knitting

The Great London Yarn Crawl

Last weekend I joined with fellow yarnies and took part in the Great London Yarn Crawl. Organised by Yarn in the City the event has been running for 4 years now and it’s a day for crafters to take a tour of some of the wonderful haberdashery and yarn shops that London has to offer.

There were 12 teams this year, each with a planned route to visit 3 or 4 shops. I was on Team Mosaic, one of the 4 shop routes.

On Saturday morning, my friend Vero and I braved the rain and caught the train to London where we were to meet the others at a coffee shop in Angel and get acquainted over tea and cake, and receive our goodie bags full of yarny treats!

glyc

The first stop on our route was Ray Stitch, a sewing and haberdashery shop in Angel, Islington.

ray-stitch

Full of beautiful fabrics, buttons and books…I was very tempted to buy a pattern and some fabric but I stopped myself as I know it will lead me down a whole other rabbit hole! So I settled for a selection of pretty buttons and scissor charms.

Buttons.jpg

Next up was Loop. I have visited this shop before and already knew it would be where I spent most of my budget for the day…this shop is yarn heaven!

loop

Just look at all these pretties…

loop-yarn-shop

Needless to say I didn’t come out of there empty handed. I bought 2 skeins of Dye for Yarn which I want to match up with some Hedgehog Fibre yarn I already have. And I got a pretty little needle measurer too  🙂

dye-for-yarn

And the one thing I had been lusting after for ages….a Japanese knitting stitch book! I have been trying to find one of these for ages but they are not easy to come by. This was top of my list for the day and I was over the moon to find it!

japanese-knitting-book

We stepped out of Loop, back into the rain and found a pub for lunch.

Fully refreshed we carried on our journey by Bus to Stoke Newington, the home of Knit With Attitude

knit-with-attitude

Part of the shop was also a gallery with interesting art prints, jewellery and gifts. If you ever find yourself in Hackney this is one shop well worth a visit, and the staff were so friendly and helpful too!

The last shop on our route was another 2 bus rides away, across to North London to Fringe.

fringe

A real treasure trove of a store, there was so much to see – and they also had a pop up event with knitwear designer Erika Knight!

fringe-london

As we walked into the shop we were handed gift bags by the staff containing 3 balls of vintage mohair yarn. The lady told us that one day a man came into the store with bags of yarn which belonged to his late wife. She had been a knitwear designer and made some beautiful garments that had appeared in magazines.

fringe-yarn-shop

Just…wow!

fringe-glyc

Her husband wanted her yarn to go to people who would appreciate it, so he donated it to the shop. Isn’t that a lovely gesture? Unfortunately we don’t know the name of the designer but I’ll certainly be putting her yarn to good use at some point in the future.

vintage-yarn

And so, weary but happy we caught a train back to Moorgate where all of the teams came together to wrap up the day, show off our new purchases and have a well deserved drink! There was also a raffle to raise money to the supported charity, Refuge.

It was a brilliant day, very well organised and I met some lovely fellow knitters too. Now to get that lovely new yarn on the needles…

Until next time, happy knitting! x

10 thoughts on “The Great London Yarn Crawl”

  1. Jem that sounds like a fun day out! I wish we could have events like that here, but our LYStores of Quality are few and far between ……. I’d sigh in a sad and longing kind of way – but I just thought of how much my budget appreciates the fact I can’t do such things 🙂

  2. Wish we had those kind of yarn stores here. But, we have none. All my shopping must be done on the internet. Then again, if I ever walked into such lovely stores as you have I’d probably faint.

  3. I did the Los Angeles crawl for a few years, and then worked others, and then stopped because I had too much yarn. lol But those crawls were some of the most fun weekends ever! Expensive, but fun. hehe

Leave a comment